The health and safety of the GW community is a top priority for the University.

GW is working with local, state, and federal public health officials to monitor the situation and respond appropriately.

Please continue to monitor our resources for updates and information.



"GW marks its historic bicentennial by honoring living alumni who have made an impact on the world and embody the ideals of the university. Bill Westenhofer, an alumnus of our program and the winner of two Academy Awards, was honored as one of the "Monumental Alumni."

The Spring 2020 Festival of Animation was virtually held on Friday, May 22nd. More details are provided on the Festival of Animation page.

The paper "A Physics-based Virtual Reality Simulation Framework for Neonatal Endotracheal Intubation," Xiao Xiao, Shang Zhao, Yan Meng, Lamia Soghier, Xiaoke Zhang, James K. Hahn, won "Best Paper Award" at 2020 IEEE Conference on Virtual Reality and 3D User Interfaces (VR), Atlanta, GA, USA.

The poster "Automated Assessment System with Cross Reality for Neonatal Endotracheal Intubation Training," Shang Zhao, Wei Li, Xiaoke Zhang, Xiao Xiao, Yan Meng, John Philbeck, Naji Younes, Rehab Alahmadi, Lamia Soghier, James K. Hahn, won "Honorable Mention" at 2020 IEEE Conference on Virtual Reality and 3D User Interfaces (VR), Atlanta, GA, USA.

Prof. Hahn accepts the  2019 Distinguished Researcher Award from the School of Engineering and Applied Science on behalf of all the students in the Institute.

Dr. Jane Goodall visited the Motion Capture and Analysis Laboratory (MOCA). She was there to be scanned in 3D and time by the MOCA team consisting of Wei Li, Xiao Xiao, and Shang Zhao for the "Virtual Jane" project.

The paper “Accurate Non-rigid 3D Human Body Surface Reconstruction Using Commodity Depth Sensors,” Yao Lu, Shang Zhao, Naji Younes, James Hahn, was selected to be on the cover of Computer Animation and Virtual World.

Wei Li, Xiao Xiao, and Shang Zhao collaborate with Prof. Maida Withers on a dance performance.

Larry Gritz wins a scientific and technical achievement award by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Prof. James Hahn, Dr. Lamia Soghier (CNHS), Prof. John Philbeck (Psychology), Prof. Naji Youns (Epidemiology and Biostatistics) receive a $1.6M NIH R01 grant.

Read more>>